Move over Thanksgiving

I’m broke… There I said it!   Like I haven’t been this poor since my college days and need to buy Ramen noodles poor.

So when our friends were going to throw out the Turkey Carcass this year I jumped on the oppurtunity to save it after being inspired by Lynne Rosetta Casper’s (NPR-Splendid Table) talk on turkey broth.

Turkey carcass is brewing

You see we have this cookbook in my family that has been passed back and forth for almost 6 years now between my Uncle (who doesn’t cook), my parents (the gourmand’s), and me.   So The funny thing about this situation is that no one has yet to cook anything from it.

Great Bowls of Fire… I’m proud to finally make something out of this bad boy

I chose the recipe “Curried Chicken and Banana Stew”  to help use up the 1.5 quarts of turkey broth I recovered from Thanksgiving.  I was pretty excited to also grind my own Madras Curry Spice up with my mortar and pestle that I purchased a few years back.

I know its a pain to grind your own spices and curries but the taste is of the charts and worth all the hassle!

Not only was the stew amazing the cost was about $6 which included me purchasing a rotisserie chicken.  This would also be a good soup for the Paleo Diet as it kept within the caveman  lifestyle. So my advice to you is that you must save the Turkey next year and boil it down for an amazing treat.

Cheap eating

Check back next week to see how a poor person (that’s me) attempts to make homemade Christmas presents for the bunches.

My loot for future Christmas gifts

Categories: coconut oil, Crossfit, food, paleo, poor eating, thanksgiving, turkey broth, turkey carcass, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

